February BOTM: Crazy Love by Francis Chan

Crazy Love helped me realize my love for God was all talk. I realized that I didn’t truly understand the extent of what God has done for me. I realized that I was satisfied with my Christian life. I have become comfortable. Then I read this, “They (lukewarm people) feel satisfied that while they aren’t as hard-core for Jesus and so-and-so, they are nowhere as horrible as the guy down the street (Page 72).” “Their love is highly conditional and very selective (Page 73).” Then after I considered this a while and decided that I had become lukewarm. After this I was challenged with the question if my life would change at all or look any different if I was not a follower of Christ. I thought about it and there were a few things.. I would probably use some bad language, I might wear a bikini, and  my shorts might be a little shorter. Is this really the question though? Do these things matter as much as my heart matter? Is my heart changed because of my relationship with Jesus Christ? DO I have a relationship with Jesus Christ or do I simply know about Him? THEN, I was confronted with yet another problem – the issue of love. “How would my life change if I actually though of each person I came into contact with as Christ (116).” Would I dare talk about Christ “behind his back?” Would I dare to not obey immediately? If I met Christ in person I would like to think I would do everything perfect for Him.. He says that the way I treat the worst of these it is as I am treating Him that way.

My challenge for myself this month is to act as though God is real in my life. To love others, as I would love Christ. If I come away unchanged I am fooling myself.

Leave a Reply

